Thursday , October 1 2020
Home / ireland / Open 2019: first round – live! | Sport

Open 2019: first round – live! | Sport


Bout ye … and welcome to our coverage of the 148th Open Championship. So far, you have opened 96 Openings in Scotland; 50 have been celebrated in England. But only one of the previous 147 tournaments has taken place in Northern Ireland, here at Royal Portrush in 1951. Well, she's been back, baby! It's been a while, but it's been back.

What room! Carnoustie could have the reputation of being the toughest course on the Open Road, St Andrews, which has more history. But Portrush, located between round dunes that embrace the beautiful coast of Antrim, offer views of the giant road, Inishowen mountain, Islay Peat, all this, perhaps the most beautiful.

It's not that it's a boost. In 1951, only three players broke 70 during the tournament, although none of them won. Max Faulkner lifted Auld Claret Jug after the 71, 70, 70, and 74 rounds, his long hot knit putter smoked hot, recovering the wild portion he had fought all week. The Dunluce Links course has changed a bit since then, in preparation for an Open for the modern era: a couple of new holes, longer, more bunkers, but we are likely to see a few more sub-70 rounds this time However, keep in mind that two of the three closing holes are called Calamity and Purgatory. In one way or another, we will see some drama this week.

Then, who will follow Faulkner to the history books as the Open winner in Portrush? Local hero Rory McIlroy is the favorite, after having maintained the record of the previous course (61) before the great redesign of 2015. He is looking for his fifth major title, just like Brooks Koepka, who paid His quotas on the European tour as a young man. And he knows very well what to do in this type of track. The usual suspects are behind the two favorites: Dustin Johnson, Justin Rose, Jon Rahm, defender champion Francesco Molinari, Xander Schauffele, Tommy Fleetwood, Adam Scott, Justin Thomas, Jordan Spieth and, of course, Tiger Woods. We could continue in this line for a long time: the new champion of the US Open, Gary Woodland? An important breakthrough for Rickie Fowler? Gloria final of career for the other local boy G-Mac? – But we have four days of hot golf action that we are ahead of, so let's get in touch immediately. The open fever is angry! Dr. Golf's information book is full of seams. It's on!

First departure time of departure (all BST):

6.35 hours: Darren Clarke, James Sugrue (a), Charley Hoffman
6.46 pm: Emiliano Grillo, Sung Kang, Thomas Thurloway (a)
6.57 hours: Andy Sullivan, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Alexander Levy
7.08: Chan Kim, Zander Lombard, Brandon Wu (a)
7.19 pm: Richard Sterne, Romain Langasque, Matthias Schmid (a)
7:30 p.m .: Padraig Harrington, Matthew Fitzpatrick Andrew Putnam
7.41pm: Bubba Watson, Eddie Pepperell, Rafa Cabrera-Bello
7.52 am: Phil Mickelson, Shane Lowry, Branden Grace
08.03: Alex Noren, Mike Lorenzo-Vera, Sam Locke
8.14 hours: Webb Simpson, Sergio Garcia, C.T. Pan
8.25 pm: Ryan Palmer, Andrea Pavan, Dylan Frittelli
8.36 hours: Kyle Stanley, Robert MacIntyre, Andrew Johnston
8.47: Mikko Korhonen, Oliver Wilson, Curtis Knipes (a)
9.03 am: Ian Poulter, Sungjae Im, Kiradech Aphibarnrat
09.14: Henrik Stenson, Xander Schauffele, Graeme McDowell
9.25 pm: Haotong Li, Russell Knox, Bernd Weisberger
9.36 h. Jason Kokrak, Connor Syme, Austin Connelly
9.47 hr. Zach Johnson, David Duval, Corey Conners
9.58 hours: Francesco Molinari, Bryson DeChambeau, Adam Scott
10.09 am: Rory McIlroy, Gary Woodland, Paul Casey
10.20 pm: Rickie Fowler, Kevin Kisner, Hideki Matsuyama
10.31 hours: Jim Furyk, Si-Woo Kim, Jimmy Walker
10.42 am: Luke List, Alexander Bjork, Paul Waring
10.53 hours: Shugo Imahira, Nate Lashley, Benjamin Herbert
11.04: Mikumu Horikawa, Callum Shinkwin, Garrick Porteous
11.15 pm: Prom Messawat, Matthew Baldwin, Senior Jack
11.36 pm: Tom Lehman, Joaquín Niemann, Miguel Ángel Jiménez
11.47 am: Byeong Hun An, Jorge Campillo, Chris Wood
11.58 hours: Joel Dahmen, Adri Arnaus, Dimitrios Papadatos
12.09 pm: Stewart Cink, Rory Sabbatini, Innchoon Hwang
12.20 pm: Erik Van Rooyen, Kurt Kitayama, Jake McLeod
12.31: Ryan Fox, Shaun Norris, Dongkyu Jang
12.42: Tyrrell Hatton, Keith Mitchell, Thomas Pieters
12.53pm: Justin Thomas, Tommy Fleetwood, Thorbjorn Olesen
10: 40h: Brooks Koepka, Louis Oosthuizen, Shubhankar Sharma
13:15: Billy Horschel, Janewattananond Jazz, Aaron Wise
13:26: Jordan Spieth, Marc Leishman, Danny Willett
13:37: Cameron Smith, Adam Hadwin, David Lipsky
13.48: Paul Lawrie, Chez Reavie, Justin Harding
2.04pm: Takumi Kanaya (a), Tom Lewis, Brandon Stone
14:15: Lucas Glover, Joost Luiten, Nino Bertasio
14.26: Ernie Els, J.B. Holmes, Abraham Ancer
14.37: Brandt Snedeker, Lee Westwood, Brian Harman
14.48: Justin Rose, Tony Finau, Lucas Bjerregaard
2.59: Dustin Johnson, Jason Day, Keegan Bradley
3:00 pm: Tiger Woods, Matt Wallace, Patrick Reed
15.11h: Jon Rahm, Patrick Cantlay, Matt Kuchar
13.32: Kevin Streelman, Doc Redman, Robert Rock
5.43 pm: Adrian Otaegui, Yuta Ikeda, Isidro Benítez
15:15: Patton Kizzire, Sang Hyun Park, Yuki Inamori
3:00 PM: Yoshinori Fujimoto, Doyeob Mun, Andrew Wilson
16.66: Gunn Charoenkul, Yosuke Asaji, Ashton Turner

Source link